

2018 Annual Award Rules & Guidelines

Nomination Deadline: April 13, 2018

Awards will be presented during lunch at our Annual Conference on May 9, 2018 at the Embassy Suites Norman - Hotel & Conference Center.

Nominations may be submitted via email to <u>info@iiaok.com</u>, by fax to (405) 840-4450 or by mail to IIAOK, P.O. Box 13490, Oklahoma City, OK 73113.

Agent of the Year Award

This award is presented to an agent for outstanding contributions to the Association and/or community. This award is open to any agent who has given an immeasurable amount of time and service to both the industry and their community. It is not limited to agents who have served on a committee or board with IIAOK. Although primary consideration is to be given to current activities, the rules of the award state that consideration may be given to accomplishments of previous years. Please give proper and due consideration to a deserving person for this outstanding award.

Nominee eligibility guidelines:

- Must be an agent member of Independent Insurance Agents of Oklahoma
- Provide outstanding contributions to the insurance industry
- Provide outstanding contributions to Independent Insurance Agents of Oklahoma
- Highly active in community affairs

Young Agent of the Year Award

The nominee must exhibit a quality of outstanding ideals and principles most becoming of a professional businessperson.

Nominee eligibility guidelines:

- Must be an agent member of Independent Insurance Agents of Oklahoma
- Must be under the age of 40 or been in the insurance industry for less than five years
- Must be a licensed property and casualty independent agent living in Oklahoma
- Must be active in the community not necessarily a leader
- Must be active in the state association and must support its programs
- Must be a student of insurance as evidenced by participation in IIAO's educational programs, self-study, or other educational programs
- Must have good professional attitude

Agency Staff Member of the Year Award

This award will be presented to an agency staff member who demonstrates exceptional performance, leadership and service.

Nominee eligibility guidelines:

- Conducts business in a professional manner
- Brings enthusiasm and professionalism to the workplace
- Is a student of continuing education and/or professional development
- Activity in community affairs may also be considered

Underwriter of the Year Award

This award will be presented to an underwriter who provides exemplary services to agents in a professional manner and who exhibits great understanding of the insurance industry.

Nominee eligibility guidelines:

- Professional conduct and ability
- Technical knowledge of the business
- Awareness of industry problems and market conditions
- Exhibits excellent relationships with agents
- Active participant in professional development
- Activity in community affairs may also be considered

Marketing Representative of the Year Award

The outstanding marketing representative will be recognized based on their contribution to the industry and community.

Nominee eligibility guidelines:

- Exhibits professional conduct and ability
- Possesses technical knowledge of the business
- Shows awareness of industry problems and market conditions
- Exhibits excellent relationships with agents
- Activity in community affairs may also be considered

Broker of the Year Award

This award will be presented to a brokerage company (includes managing general agent and surplus lines broker) who meets the needs of independent insurance agents.

Nominee eligibility guidelines:

- Must be an associate member of Independent Insurance Agents of Oklahoma
- Conducts business with agents in a professional manner
- Exhibits outstanding knowledge of the insurance industry
- Exhibits complete awareness of the market conditions
- Exhibits excellent relationships with agents and agencies

Company of the Year Award

This award will be presented to the company that provides excellent products and services to independent agents and the independent insurance agency systems.

Nominee eligibility guidelines:

- Must be an associate member of Independent Insurance Agents of Oklahoma
- Conducts business in a professional manner
- Demonstrates a strong willingness to assist independent agents
- Exhibits excellent agent and agency relationships
- Provides support to Independent Insurance Agents of Oklahoma

Current IIAO executive committee members and 2017 award recipients are not eligible to win awards in 2018. If last year's winner is nominated, then the nomination will be invalid.

2017-18 Executive Committee

Joe Strunk, Chairman Chris Floyd, Chairman Elect Jeff Burton, Treasurer Chris Mosley, Secretary Thad Leonard, Immediate Past Chairman Gerald Keeton, State Director

2017 Award Recipients

Travis Brown, Agent Rene Hernandez, Young Agent Lyn Power, Agency Staff Member Gary Berkovsky, Underwriter Susan Cox, Marketing Representative Westphalen Insurance Services, Broker CompSource Mutual Ins. Company, Company

Nominations may be submitted via email to <u>info@iiaok.com</u>, by fax to (405) 840-4450 or by mail to IIAOK, P.O. Box 13490, Oklahoma City, OK 73113.